Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award

Honoree

2017 Heidi Götz und Michael Eichert
2016 William Pino
2015 Heinz Späker und Cor van de Stroet
2014 Ralf Müller und Olga Müller–Omeltchenko
2013 Horst Beer
2012 David Simon
2011 Christa Fenn
2010 Geoffrey Hearn

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2017

TNW President Norbert Jung honored the outstanding achievements of the award winner Heidi Götz in his laudatory speech. For decades she has been dancing as a dancer, then as a trainer, judge and official throughout the world. From the beginning she was involved in organizing the Austrian Open and is the soul of this international event.

Ten years ago, she was appointed by the then President to the WDSF Presidency, where she took over the Communication Department. She brought the dance sport with the modern techniques of communication into a new age. Under her leadership, the website of the WDSF became the number one worldwide dance website on the World Wide Web.

Interpersonal communication also plays an important role for Heidi Götz, always addressing the couples from all over the world in person and keeping in touch with the officials. For many years she has been present at numerous major tournaments in order to report on it as promptly and authentically as possible. (Sabine Hey)

Ivo Münster, sportsman of the TNW, took over the eulogy for national sportsman Michael Eichert and honored his more than 40 years of volunteer work on various levels. First, he was at club level 15 years Sportwart in 1 TC Ludwigsburg, followed by seven years in the office of Vice President for the club.

At the state level, the path led him through the appointment in teaching to Lehrwart before he took over in 1994, the office of sports warden in the TBW. He accompanied and supported the German Open from the very beginning.

From the year 1993, Michael Eichert became involved nationwide as a secretary and four and a half years later was elected national sportsman. To this day, he is committed with a lot of commitment and passion for “his” dance athletes and the dance sport nationally and internationally.

Already in 2010 he entered international territory as “Ordinary Member” of the then IDSF-Presidium (since 2011 WDSF) and held the position of 2nd Vice President WDSF until June of this year and was also a member of the WDSF until that time Chair Sports Commission.

His path was accompanied by countless medal awards and continued at the 14th danceComp with the presentation of the Oliver-Wessel-Therhorn Award.

Visibly moved, both Heidi Götz and Michael Eichert accepted this special award. “Many thanks for this award. For me it is not just an award, but above all an appreciation of the volunteer work. This is no longer self-evident today! “So Heidi Götz after the ceremony. Michael Eichert added the thanks with the words: “It is always said that everyone is replaceable, which may be true for some. But for one, this certainly does not apply! Oliver Wessel-Therhorn can not be replaced. We miss him very much! “(Gaby Michel)

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2016

With a very personal laudation Dr. Thomas Kokott honored this year’s  honorees of the OWT Award, William Pino.

The long-time friend and companion of deceased National Trainer Oliver Wessel-Therhorn  was visibly moved while receiving the award from Horst Beer (National Trainer Latin).

Norbert Jung handed over the honorary certificate.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2015

New awardees of the OWT-Award, given by the danceComp, are Heinz Späker and Cor van de Stroet. The award was endowed to commemorate the coach of german national dancers Oliver Wessel-Therhorn, who deceased in 2010. Until now the award was only given to one person and one couple (Ralf Müller and Olga Omeltchenko).

This year the TNW has chosen two awardees. President of the TNW, Norbert Jung, honored Heinz Späker who served the dance sport for over 35 years, first as a sports director for the TNW then ten years as a sports director for the DTV and another 16 years as a sports director for the international organisation WDSF. In his speech Heinz Späker remembered Oliver Wessel-Therhorn,who he knew as dancer and coach.

In his laudation on the dutch judge Cor van de Stroet TNW-sports director Ivo Münster said:”you can trust this man to 150%.” Cor van Stroet was Dutch Champion in the professional section for 10 times and led the Dutch organisation as a president for 25 years. He is jury-president in the dutch version of “Dancing with the Stars” (“Let’s Dance”). The OWT-Award was given to him by a former awardee: Christa Fenn.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2014

Obviously stirred Ralf Müller and Olga Müller-Omeltchenko received this year´s OWT award presented by last year´s laureate Horst Beer.

Norbert Jung, the president of the dancesport association Nordrhein Westfalen, remembered the numerous success of the exceptional couple who inspired plenty of dancers within their unique career as current adjudicators and trainers.

In his laudatory speech Ralf Müller honoured many unforgetable show dances acquired with the late federal trainer Oliver Wessel-Therhorn that led them to two world championship titles.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2013

During the latin Competition of the Professional Division Horst Beer has recieved the Oliver Wessel-Therhorn Award 2013.

The award was presented by Norbert Jung,  President of the North Rhine-Westfalian DanceSport Federation.

The winnner of the last year, David Simon has given the trophy, Christa Fenn has given the document to Horst Beer.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2012

David Simon from the Netherlands received the Oliver Wessel – Therhorn award. He was honoured for his outstanding contributions to DanceSport and and for meritorious initiatives in fostering friendships between the Dutch and the German DanceSport communities.

The award was presented by last year’s winner Christa Fenn and by Norbert Jung,  President of the North Rhine-Westfalian DanceSport Federation. It is named after the legendary Dancesport champion and trainer Oliver Wessel – Therhorn, who passed away in 2011.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2011

The bureau of dance sport federation of North Rhine Westphalia has decided to change the name of the danceComp Award in memory of Oliver Wessel Therhorn.

First recipient of the Award under the new name was Christa Fenn.

Deeply moved she gain this award in the evening of 2nd July in the historical town hall from the hands of Oliver´s widow and his two children Raphael and Rebecca

Christa Fenn maked a name for oneself as a dancer, coach, judge and trainer supervisor over many years

With continuing applause thanked the large numbers of attending competitors and spectators Christa Fenn.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2010

In 2010 the organisers of the danceComp presented the first danceComp Award.

The recipient was Geoffrey Hearn, who received the award for his many contributions and life work in dance sport as a coach, author and publisher. The laudatory speech was delivered by Oliver Wessel-Therhorn.

OUR SPONSORS

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award

Die Preisträger

2017 Heidi Götz und Michael Eichert
2016 William Pino
2015 Heinz Späker und Cor van de Stroet
2014 Ralf Müller und Olga Müller–Omeltchenko
2013 Horst Beer
2012 David Simon
2011 Christa Fenn
2010 Geoffrey Hearn

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2017

TNW Präsident Norbert Jung würdigte in seiner Laudatio die herausragenden Leistungen und Verdienste der Preisträgerin Heidi Götz. Seit Jahrzehnten ist sie in Sachen Tanzsport zunächst als Tänzerin, danach als Trainerin, Wertungsrichterin und Funktionärin in der ganzen Welt unterwegs. Von Beginn an war sie an der Organisation der Austrian Open beteiligt und ist die Seele dieses internationalen Events.

Vor zehn Jahren wurde sie vom damaligen Präsidenten in das WDSF Präsidium berufen, in dem sie den Bereich Communication übernahm. Sie brachte den Tanzsport mit den modernen Techniken der Kommunikation in ein neues Zeitalter. Unter ihrer Leitung wurde die Internetpräsenz der WDSF weltweit zur Nummer eins der Tanzsportseiten im World Wide Web.

Auch die zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation spielt für Heidi Götz eine große Rolle, indem sie immer persönlich auf die Paare aus aller Welt zugeht und den Kontakt zu den Funktionären hält. Sie ist seit Jahren bei zahlreichen großen Turnieren vor Ort, um möglichst zeitnah und authentisch darüber zu berichten. (Sabine Hey)

Ivo Münster, Sportwart des TNW, übernahm die Laudatio für Bundessortwart Michael Eichert und würdigte dabei seinen seit über 40 Jahren währenden ehrenamtlichen Einsatz auf den verschiedensten Ebenen. Zunächst war er auf Vereinsebene 15 Jahre Sportwart im 1. TC Ludwigsburg, es folgten sieben Jahre im Amt des Vizepräsidenten für den Verein.

Auf Landesebene führte ihn der Weg über die Beauftragung im Lehrwesen hin zum Lehrwart, ehe er 1994 das Amt des Sportwartes im TBW übernahm. Die German Open begleitete und unterstützte er dabei von der ersten Stunde an.

Ab dem Jahr 1993 engagierte sich Michael Eichert bundesweit zunächst als Schriftführer und wurde viereinhalb Jahre später zum Bundessportwart gewählt. Bis zum heutigen Tage setzt er sich mit viel Engagement und Herzblut für „seine“ Tanzsportler und den Tanzsport national und international ein.

 

Bereits im Jahr 2010 betrat er als „Ordinary Member“ des damaligen IDSF-Präsidiums (seit 2011 WDSF) internationales Territorium und hatte hier bis zum Juni des Jahres die Position des 2. Vizepräsidenten WDSF inne und war ebenfalls bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt Mitglied in der WDSF Chair SportsCommission.

Sein Weg wurde von unzähligen Medaillenauszeichnungen begleitet und auf der 14. danceComp nun mit der Verleihung des Oliver-Wessel-Therhorn Award fortgesetzt.

Sichtlich gerührt nahmen sowohl Heidi Götz als auch Michael Eichert diese besondere Auszeichnung entgegen.“Herzlichen Dank für diesen Award. Er ist für mich nicht nur eine Auszeichnung, sondern vor allem eine Wertschätzung der ehrenamtlichen Arbeit. Das ist heutzutage nicht mehr selbstverständlich!“ So Heidi Götz nach der Verleihung. Michael Eichert ergänzte den Dank mit den Worten: „Es heißt stets, dass jeder ersetzbar ist, was für einige sicherlich zutreffen mag. Doch für einen gilt dieses ganz bestimmt nicht! Oliver Wessel-Therhorn ist nicht zu ersetzen. Wir vermissen ihn sehr!“ (Gaby Michel)

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2016

Mit einer sehr persönlichen Laudatio ehrte Dr. Thomas Kokott den diesjährigen Preisträger des OWT – Awards, William Pino.
Der langjährige Freund und Weggefährte des 2010 verstorbenen Bundestrainer Oliver Wessel – Therhorn nahm sichtlich gerührt den Pokal aus den Händen Horst Beers ( Bundestrainer Latein ) entgegen.

Norbert Jung, Präsident des Landestanzsportverbandes Nordrhein Westfalen, überreichte die Ehrenurkunde.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2015

Träger des von der danceComp vergebenen OWT-Awards 2015 sind Heinz Späker und Cor van de Stroet.

TNW-Präsident Norbert Jung würdigte Heinz Späker als einen Funktionär, der über 35 Jahre im Dienst des Tanzsports stand, zunächst als Sportwart im TNW, anschließend zehn Jahre als Sportwart des DTV und weitere 16 Jahre als Sportdirektor des internationalen Verbandes WDSF. In seinen Dankesworten erinnerte Heinz Späker an Oliver Wessel-Therhorn, den er als Tänzer und als Trainer kannte und schätzte.

Über den zweiten Preisträger, den holländischen Wertungsrichter Cor van de Stroet, sagte TNW-Sportwart Ivo Münster in seiner Laudatio: „Man kann sich auf den Mann 150%ig verlassen.“ Cor van de Stroet war zu seiner aktiven Zeit zehn Mal holländischer Meister der Professionals und führte 25 Jahre den niederländischen Verband als Präsident. In der niederländischen Ausgabe von „Dancing with the Stars“ (entspricht „Let’s dance“) ist er Vorsitzender der Jury.

Überreicht wurden die OWT-Awards von einer früheren Preisträgerin: Christa Fenn.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2014

Sichtlich gerührt nahmen Ralf Müller und Olga Müller – Omeltchenko den diesjährigen OWT-Award aus den Händen des Preisträgers des Vorjahres, Horst Beer entgegen. In der Laudatio, die der Präsident des Tanzsportverband Nordrhein Westfalen, Norbert Jung hielt, erinnerte dieser an die zahlreichen Erfolge des sympathischen Ausnahmepaares, das in seiner langen und nahezu einzigartigen Karriere als aktive Weltklassetänzer und Spitzentrainer zahlreiche Tänzer inspirierte.

In seiner Dankesrede erinnerte Ralf Müller an die unvergessenen Küren, die sie zusammen mit dem verstorbenen Bundestrainer Oliver Wessel-Therhorn erarbeitet und die sie zu weltmeisterlichen Ehren geführt haben.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2013

Im Rahmen des Lateinturniers der Professional Division wurde zum vierten Mal eine Persönlichkeit des Tanzsports mit dem Oliver Wessel-Therhorn Award ausgezeichnet.

Der Präsident des TNW – Norbert Jung – hielt die Laudatio für Bundestrainer Horst Beer, der mit großer Freude den Award vom Vorjahrespreisträger David Simon entgegennahm.

Die Grande Dame des Tanzsports  Christa Fenn – Preisträgerin 2011 – gratulierte Horst Beer ganz herzlich und überreichte die Urkunde.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2012

Zum 3. Mal wurde im Rahmen den danceComp eine Persönlichkeit des Tanzsports mit dem Oliver-Wessel-Therhorn Award ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2012 ging der OWT Award an David Simon aus den Niederlanden.

Er erhielt die Auszeichnung für sein großes persönliches Engagement im Bereich des Tanzsports,  insbesondere für sein langjähriges Wirken und seine Förderung der Niederländisch – Deutschen Freundschaft. Außerdem wurde sein hohes Maß an Integrität gewürdigt.

Überreicht wurde der Award vom Präsidenten des TNW Norbert Jung und der Preisträgerin des Jahres 2011 Christa Fenn.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2011

Das Präsidium des TNW hat entschieden, das der danceComp Award im Gedenken an Oliver Wessel-Therhorn ab 2011 seinen Namen tragen wird.

Erster Preisträgerin des Awards unter dem neuen Namen wurde Christa Fenn.
Sichtlich bewegt nahm sie diese Auszeichnung am Abend des 2.Julis in der Stadthalle aus den Händen von Olivers Witwe Vera und den beiden Kinder Raphael und Rebecca entgegen.
Christa Fenn hat sich über viele Jahre als Tänzerin, Trainerin, Wertungsrichterin und Ausbilderin einen großen Namen gemacht und sich deshalb um den Tanzsport sehr verdient gemacht.

Mit anhaltendem Applaus dankten die sehr zahlreich anwesenden Turnierpaare und Zuschauer Christa Fenn.

Oliver Wessel-Therhorn-Award 2010

Im Jahr 2010 wurde in Rahmen der danceComp zum ersten mal der danceComp Award verliehen.

Erster Preisträger war Geoffrey Hearn, der den Award für seine zahlreichen Verdienste um den Tanzsport als Trainer, Autor und Herausgeber erhielt. Die Laudatio hielt Oliver Wessel-Therhorn.

Unsere Sponsoren